The Life and Times of An Accidental Jerk

I have a love-hate relationship with the church.

jerkYes, that’s kind of an odd thing for someone whose job revolves around the church to say, but it’s true.  Church can offer me comfort and challenge me in my mission of being Christ to others. But has also been a place of pain, a place where others misunderstand me and where I am constantly wondering if I’m doing the right thing and scared how people will react when I do get it wrong.

I don’t know how it is with other folks with Aspergers, what I am sharing might just be unique to me.  But sometimes church has been a minefield, a place where I seem to do the wrong thing and not always know that until I get the angry email or conversation.

A lot of what happens in church revolves around unwritten rules.  They are things that everyone else can see, but it’s something that I can’t understand let alone see it.  Even when I think I’ve done the right things that won’t get me in trouble, somehow, I mess it up.  I missed another rule.

The result of all this is that I live in quiet fear.  I second guess my decisions, triple-check what I say, and wonder if the parishoner I’m talking to is mad at me and I don’t know it.

Church can be a minefield for pastors in general, but the church is even more of a minefield to me…and I don’t know where the mines are laid.

I don’t want to give the impression that church is all bad.  I also don’t want to live in self-pity, blaming others for my mistakes.  I also can’t expect my colleagues and the laity to have learned everything about Aspergers.  I guess I just want people to see that am trying and learning to be better. To paraphrase Jessica Rabbit, I’m not bad…I’m just wired that way.

 

One thought on “The Life and Times of An Accidental Jerk

Add yours

  1. Negotiating the minefield of unwritten and unspoken rules is a daily challenge for many of us on the autism spectrum. You are most definitely not alone in this.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Discover more from The Clockwork Pastor

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading