Hanging Out With Dennis

carl and georgeI’ve never been the guy that people want to hang out with.  I’ve never been the person that people really want to confide in.  For the most part, I’ve been the guy on the outside of the group.

None of this means that I have no friends.  It does mean that there is a certain platonic intimacy that I haven’t fully experienced.  It does mean learning to be alone.

 

I’m beginning to understand that the reason it has been such a struggle to make friends is because I’m autistic; meaning, I have difficulty communicating to others.  I’ve started to liken this to entering a room where everyone is speaking German and I’m speaking Swahili.

Autistic blogger C.W. Wyatt notes that he is not the one that people want to hang out with:

Hanging out with friends seems to be something that most of my Facebook “friends” do on a weekly basis. Some seem to be hanging out nightly. They are the social butterflies I sometimes envy, because social skills matter personally and professionally.

I don’t get random emails, messages, or phone calls from people asking, “What are you doing tonight?” I can’t recall the last personal, non-work message, that was not initiated by me. People don’t reach out to me without a reason.

The other thing that makes communication difficult is that I’m constantly overthinking every damn thing I do.  I obess over saying the right thing to someone.  I get nervous that a sign of friendly affection might be taken the wrong way.  I tend to think that I do things that are taken the wrong way.  This has implications not just in social situtations, but also at work.  I’ve ended up on the wrong side of a supervisor for doing something that got me into trouble.

I’m learning that I will always be on the outside.  Please understand, this isn’t a pity party; I’m just understanding that no matter how I try to improve my social relationships, there will always be problems.

Leave a Reply

